Childhood Crafting Memories

I had to stop crocheting the cranberry and pink colored  scarf because I ran out of cranberry yarn. I was so certain I had enough yarn  but I want to make the scarf a few inches longer. I won’t be able to order more yarn until Jan.  26.  I started crocheting another scarf that is purple and gray. Hopefully, I  will finish crocheting this scarf tonight.

I spent most of today writing a draft for my newsletter.   In the newsletter I shared  part of my childhood crafting history. I remembered so much  so easily. Sometimes a simple memory of making a mosaic tile trivet at age 9 ,in an afterschool program evokes such good feelings.

 My Aunt E. was a great crafting mentor because she taught me to knit and crochet.   I would have benefitted from having a sewing mentor to teach to me sew.  I tried to make my own dresses at age 14. I used a pattern but that didn’t help much.  I was very embarrassed by the finished products.  But today, as I recall how I looked in one of  those dresses  it makes me smile to think how fearless I was to wear it outside.   Crafting as a child enhanced my self-development in many ways. I taught NP to crochet 20 years ago when she was a teenager. Now she is married and a mother of three and she spends a lot of time crocheting. She considers me her crocheting mentor just like I remember my  Aunt E. 

 Well that’s enough of sharing of my newsletter.  It’s time to watch the Golden Globes Awards and finish crocheting that purple and gray scarf.

About rhymit61

I crochet and sometimes knit. At this time, I am homebound due to a chronic illness. I am interested selling some of my handcrocheted items .
This entry was posted in Crocheting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Childhood Crafting Memories

  1. How lucky some are to have mentors for the needlearts, like you and me. I had an Aunt E, only she was an Aunt R, who taught me to tap dance and play the piano; two things I don’t do well anymore, but will always remember her kindness in bringing those fun things into my life. Thanks for the sweet post.

Leave a Reply

