MLK Jr. Day

I am still not finished crocheting the gray and purple scarf. I will try to finish it later this evening.  Sometimes, I don’t know how long to make a scarf. 50 inches is usually the shortest. But I think60- 64 inches is the a good length unless someone requests a long scarf.

Today is Martin Luther King Jr. Day.  It is a day to remember someone who dreamed of a better world.  I hope people remember me when I have passed away as someone who made the world a better place.  Crocheting and creating handmade items to share with others is a simple way to make the world better.

These are the crochet dreams I have to make the world a better place: 1) to teach children and teenagers to knit and crochet; 2)  to donate my crocheted items to charitable organizations; 3)( when I am no longer homebound) to volunteer in a senior center or rehab center teaching arts & crafts and 4)( also when I am no longer homebound)to knit and crochet in public places( such as on buses & subways; parks; restaurants; sports events etc) so that the art form is visible to all.

But for now, I will get back to crocheting the purple and gray scarf.

0

About rhymit61

I crochet and sometimes knit. At this time, I am homebound due to a chronic illness. I am interested selling some of my handcrocheted items .
This entry was posted in Crocheting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MLK Jr. Day

  1. I like this post. I like hearing about your dreams. And I especially like the idea of teaching kids to knit and crochet (and do anything with their hands). If people realized the mental advantages of art, we’d have it back as a permanent part of our children’s entire curriculum from kindergarten to a Ph.D. Art is healing. Art and creating is what makes us human. I applaud your dreams. When I paint in the park, people ALWAYS stop. Even if I’m just sitting on the beach with pad and paper, someone has to come look. It’s so fun.

    Thanks for the enjoyable post.

Leave a Reply

