Taking Time To Sleep

I have put aside the red ripple afghan for a few days.  I decided to finish crocheting a few other projects instead. I want to structure my crocheting time.   I need to spend 30 or more hours weekly crocheting or knitting. Otherwise, I won’t be able to make enough items to sell. I want to crochet or knit at least 6 hours/ six days per week. I will choose a different day each week to take a break to rest my hands. After a few weeks, I’ll decide if I want to take two days a week off. 

I don’t want to crochet or knit between  midnight and  8am. I want to sleep during those hours.  Right now, I’m getting only about 2 or 3 hours of sleep a day. Sometimes, I get 4 hours of sleep . Very rarely do I sleep 6 hours.  I haven’t slept 8 hours a day since I stopped working over 3 years ago.    sometimes, I stay up all night crocheting. This wouldn’t be a problem, if I took naps in the day time . But napping during the day, doesn’t work for me.

 I wake up before 8am most mornings, even if I didn’t fall asleep until 5am. I find it difficult to sleep later.  Now that I very rarely leave my home, I’ve convinced myself that it doesn’t matter how late I stay up at night.  I don’t need to wake up early to go anywhere. 

When I get less than 4 hours of sleep,  I do not feel well. Lack of sleep also makes me irritable;  overly emotional and unable to think clearly.   Last night, I went to sleep at 1am and I woke up at 7am. That was good.  I don’t really need medication to help me sleep.  My doctor has given some suggestions of over the counter medications to try.   So far these have been effective when I’ve used them. But I usually am tired enough to sleep without the medication. I just keep crocheting or doing another activity to keep myself awake.  I worry too much about things I have no control over. I want to get into a routine where I read the Bible and pray between  11:00pm and midnight. I want to go to sleep after that. I have to learn to leave my present and future in the hands of the Lord. I have to try not to think too much late at night.   I  have to learn to value my sleep time and make it a daily priority. Maybe I’ll post a picture of the red ripple afghan when I  get back to it and finish.

About rhymit61

I crochet and sometimes knit. At this time, I am homebound due to a chronic illness. I am interested selling some of my handcrocheted items .
This entry was posted in Crocheting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Taking Time To Sleep

  1. The best way to sleep better is to exercise more. Even if your mobility is impaired, try doing exercises of the upper body, something to get your heart rate up for a half hour. Google this concept, and I bet you’ll find things you can do while sitting besides knitting and crocheting, neither of which will do much for helping you sleep. Except, I hear that you’ll change from Alpha to Beta, or the other way around, brain waves with the repetitive actions of knitting, something that’s actually suppose to help you sleep. Doesn’t work for me, though it makes me feel nappy.

  2. Pingback: Taking Time To Sleep

Leave a Reply

