Colors

Lately, I have been thinking a lot about colors. Today, I crocheted a mesh cap from a chocolate-brown colored cotton yarn. Chocolate- brown is my favorite color to make hats and scarves. I like that it is a dark neutral color. It seems to me to have a richer tone than black, navy blue or charcoal gray.

 Of course, I will make any color hat or scarf per customer request. For children’s hat and scarf sets, I  only use chocolate-brown as an accent color(for a flower or as a stripe). Besides chocolate-brown, pink, cranberry, purple, gray, green, honey, scarlet, navy blue and black were the most popular hat/ scarf color choices requested by most of my customers this winter season. 

A 9-year-old boy requested an orange beanie and scarf set. I gave a lot of thought to which shade of orange I would choose, since he didn’t specify. I chose to make the beanie tangerine and his scarf tangerine with black stripes. He seemed to be very pleased with these colors. At first, I thought that orange was a strange color to want to wear. But, I remember  one occasion, when I thought orange was the perfect color choice for an item I wanted to wear.  My high school prom dress  was  burnt orange-colored.  I thought I looked very pretty. Later that evening,  I saw another girl wearing the exact same dress. She must have thought orange was just the right color choice for her too. I think that anyone could probably find a flattering shade of orange clothing to wear.

During the mid to late 1980’s, I had a color consultation. I was in my late 20’s at that time. I think the name of the company was “Color Me Beautiful”. The color consultant told me I was a “winter.” I was given  a  booklet of color swatches. These swatches were to assist me in picking out  “winter” shades of colors for my clothing and accessories.

Looking back , it seems strange to me that I didn’t feel confident enough to realize that I was already chosing flattering clothing colors. What seems even stranger to me now, is that I felt it necessary to have someone else tell me what my favorite colors should be.  

 One valuable lesson, I learned from this color consultation was that I could wear any color but that some shades of colors were more flattering to me than others.  I remember, after that color consultation, royal blue was my favorite color for many years. Now I favor deep pink and purple color shades(fuchsia; wine, berry).

When I crochet an afghan, I like to use either earth tones  like shades of browns and greens. For baby afghans , I prefer mint green or yellow. A lot of times, I will use variegated yarns when making afghans. But again, I will also make afghan per customer color choice.

I read an interesting article, by Kristin Nicholas titled “Color Confidence”,  in the Jan/Feb 2009 issue of Crochet Today Magazine. She states that having “a color wheel  is an invaluable tool when learning to create new color combinations.” In the article she gives examples on how to use a color wheel . She also suggests observing how colors are combined in natural settings.  Maybe, I should buy a color wheel.  I think , I will try to experiment more with different combinations when I am crocheting afghans. But chocolate-brown will still be my color of choice  when crochet hats and scarves.

About rhymit61

I crochet and sometimes knit. At this time, I am homebound due to a chronic illness. I am interested selling some of my handcrocheted items .
This entry was posted in Crocheting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Colors

  1. Sue says:

    Thoughtful post! Thanks for reminding me to be more conscious of colors. If left to my own devices, I’d make everything in some shade of pink! 🙂

    Your post & note about the little boy requesting an orange set, reminded me of a little girl who I traded with for the use of her American Girl dolls. The deal was, she got a sweater for her dolls. I asked what color she would like, she picked red. I made a couple different red sweaters, in addition to my fav……..a hot pink one with some glitz in it….and for balance, a blue-ish purple one with fuzzy bits at the neckline and a bow (because I love bows) Well, you guessed it, the little girl chose the blue sweater. Not even close to red!

    Color is such an interesting subject. I have an area in my studio I sort of toss things that grab me….. Colors, textures, sometimes notions or trim too. They don’t always end up in an item, but it is fun to see what different combinations happen during the week.

  2. You can find a color wheel online. Even one you would buy in the store would not be exact to the colors you might use. It’s more a guide. Like there are a thousand different whites; there are a thousand different blues. The wheel will do more to teach you about coordinating colors, but ultimately you’ll be the one to find the right specific color to go with another specific color. As an artist, I can attest to the fact that this isn’t always easy.
    And I’m with you on the purples and pinks. My skin tone has faded over the years, and blue washes me out. Kind of like blue lips… Pinks and purples put the pink in my cheeks again, so I wear a lot of it, though I tend to go with the paler pinks.

  3. Pingback: Colors

Leave a Reply

