Getting the Gauge Right

My newest crochet project is a blue and white baby afghan. I am also crocheting a slouchy beret in an off white yarn.  Finding the correct gauge size was a bigger issue for me this past week than usual. I prefer crocheting afghan and scarfs where gauge sizes aren’t a big deal.  I don’t like crocheting gauge swatches. 

I know from experience, that in general ,I have to use a crochet hook  at least 2 sizes smaller than the hook size listed in the pattern. I tried 3 different patterns for newborn baby sweaters. Each time, the gauge was off.  All three patterns listed the” f” crochet hook. I tried using my “c “hook. But of course, I probably need the “b” hook which is missing.

 I know having a larger baby sweater is not the end of the world.  Babies grow very quickly. But, I really like making that newborn size. I have a pattern I could use the “c ” hook on but the sweater wouldn’t look right for a boy.  So, the baby sweater will have to wait until I order new supplies at the end of the month.

I have other projects to work on in the meantime.

About rhymit61

I crochet and sometimes knit. At this time, I am homebound due to a chronic illness. I am interested selling some of my handcrocheted items .
This entry was posted in Crocheting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Getting the Gauge Right

  1. Getting a gauge right is one of the most difficult things. Most of my patterns say to knit or crochet a small square to see where the gauge is with my style and tension of knitting. But often that doesn’t even work. I’m a tight knitter. Probably because I’m tense. Patsye

  2. rhymit61 says:

    Yes, it can be very frustrating trying to find out the correct size hook or needles to use when no gauge square you make is the right measurement.

  3. Pingback: Getting the Gauge Right

Leave a Reply

