St. Patrick’s Day.

Yesterday, was St. Patrick’s Day. I’m not Irish or Catholic. I know very little about St. Patrick.   But, I usually cook corn beef , cabbage and white potatoes in honor of the holiday. Instead, I had chicken and rice prepared by someone else. I miss cooking for holidays. I miss cooking in general.

I’m not complaining. I’m only reminiscing.  I know, I’m very fortunate to have someone prepare meals for me. I really appreciate it. I also appreciate having food to eat. There are so many people who are hungry. I am fortunate to be alive and well enough to write this blog.

Some days it’s hard for me to adjust to being so dependent on others.  I took so much for granted  when I was in better health. So let me rephrase the statement. Instead of saying , “I miss cooking in general.” I’ll substitute ” I just  want to be in better health.”  I  want to be  well enough to cook for myself and others again.

 Crocheting interrupted my pity party.  Yesterday, I replaced a cooking tradition with a crocheting tradition. I crocheted a green headband with a honey flower.  Maybe, I’ll crochet green headbands every St. Patrick’s Day.

About rhymit61

I crochet and sometimes knit. At this time, I am homebound due to a chronic illness. I am interested selling some of my handcrocheted items .
This entry was posted in Crocheting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to St. Patrick’s Day.

  1. Sue says:

    You provide me with such food for thought. I find myself whining about having to cook here! It is close to the bottom of my list of fun things to do….. I’ll try to change my outlook……….thanks for the push in the right direction!

  2. knottywitch says:

    I understand what you mean. It can get you down sometimes. I have not even picked up my hooks in a while. I keep looking at my yarn and thinking …. maybe for a little while won’t hurt. Then today, I walked to our local drug store just a few blocks away to get paper plates for dinner – I made pizza, hubby made wings. I found toilet bowl cleaner on clearance for $.50 so I grabbed just 4 bottles to walk home with (there are 7 people living here after all…) and it *hurt* I could not beleive it. The desire for a clean toilet bowl almost took me out – LOL! I do have a twisted sense of humor about it all though.

  3. Pingback: St. Patrick’s Day.

Leave a Reply

