Good Shepherd Mennonite/Blog Dedication day4/25/2011

I want to dedicate this post to  Good Shepherd Mennonite Church, Bronx, NY.    A former supervisor I had , frequently said “everything comes by way of relationships” .  I formed many positive relationships from age 4-age 24   as part of the community at  Good Shepherd Mennonite Church.

My church family became part of my extended family. My mom was a single parent.  Our church family at Good Shepherd was very supportive toward my mom as she raised me.  Another mother  in the church with four children often took care of me especially during school breaks. This helped my mom work without having to pay  childcare expenses. 

Being involved in church activities kept me safe and out of trouble as a teenager.  The church provided me with my first work experience . During my 4 years of high school, I worked three days weekly in the church’s after school program. During the summer months, I worked at the church’s summer day camp program. I also participated in a citywide Mennonite Church youth committee which organized youth activities.

One of the church members helped me pay my college tuition my last year in college. My employment in a foster agency when I was 21 was obtained through references from church members who knew of my work  with children and my educational background.

These are just a few of many examples of the blessings  that I gained from my church family and my faith in Christ. 

 Sadly, Good Shepherd Mennonite Church closed in the mid 1980’s. But, I continue my involvement  with the NYC  Mennonite church community. Church members are still an active part of my daily life. My mom and I depend upon the support that we receive from our Christian brothers and sisters.

 Thank you to http://irisheyesknitting.blogspot.com  for the  suggestion to post dedications on blog sites today.

About rhymit61

I crochet and sometimes knit. At this time, I am homebound due to a chronic illness. I am interested selling some of my handcrocheted items .
This entry was posted in Crocheting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Good Shepherd Mennonite/Blog Dedication day4/25/2011

  1. kathy b says:

    Sounds like they were really important in your formative years. How lucky you were to have them. I’ll bet your mom is eternally appreciative too!

  2. Naomi says:

    Just had to let you know that I read–and really liked–this post. Sometimes I wonder: would we have had a chance to become friends if it hadn’t been for our sister Mennonite churches, Good Shepherd and Seventh Avenue? Now we have the Internet–and you’re developing a “presence!”–so maybe… But I’m glad our lives overlapped before their homebound phases started! Keep writing, my friend! And crocheting…your creativity is a special gift.

Leave a Reply

