A is for Afghans

For the next 26 Mondays  my blog post topics will correspond with the letters of the alphabet. Unfortunately it is just past midnight on Tuesday morning.  I still have 25 more Mondays to get my timing right. For more information or to join in go to:  http://accidental-knitter.blogspot.com/2011/05/is-forambition.html

My topic for today is afghans.    For my Spring/ Summer  2011 Newsletter, I feature an afghan promotional offer.  So far I have had two orders for afghans.  I haven’t crocheted any afghans to list in my Etsy shop yet. I hope I get  more  afghan orders before I send out the Fall/Winter newsletter. 

  Afghans make practical gifts  for baby showers, graduations, Mother’s Day, Father’s Day, Weddings, bridal showers and house-warmings. I really cannot think of a more universal gift idea.

Afghans  can be taken on picnics or to the beach.   It is always a good idea to keep at least one afghan in a car  for passenger comfort.   Smaller afghans can go over baby  carriages or on the laps of  people using wheelchairs.  Afghans are practical to cover up with while reading, napping or watching television.

Crocheting afghans is never boring   Afghans can be made in  many color variations. Fiber choices can also vary. The length and width of aghans can adjusted according to individual preference..  I like to crochet 40′ x’60’   or  36′ x36″  afghans most of the time. Afghans can be composed of  multiple geometric  shapes and patterns. My favorite afghan pattern to crochet is the ripple.  There are  endless variations of ripple patterns.

One of the  crochet  projects I’m working on is a 36”x36″  afghan that can either be used as a lapghan for a wheelchair or as a baby blanket.  I am not using a ripple pattern for this project. I am using a pattern stitch from a crochet dictionary that I use in many items called ” The Monique Stitch”.  I am using Red Heart Strata Yarn the color is called Cascade. I am using a size “C” crochet hook for this project so the stitches are very small and tight.

I know I have already written several posts about afghans this year.   So forgive my repetition.  I’m just a fan of crocheted afghans.

About rhymit61

I crochet and sometimes knit. At this time, I am homebound due to a chronic illness. I am interested selling some of my handcrocheted items .
This entry was posted in Crocheting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A is for Afghans

  1. Charlotte says:

    I share your love for crochet afghans too. Shame I can’t crochet lol.
    I never thought of using an afghan for when I’m in my wheelchair. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

