E is for Etsy

Each week I base a blog post on an alphabet letter. For more information or to join in go to http://accidental-knitter.blogspot.com

This week’s  alphabet post is “E” is for Etsy.  On June 6 ,2009 ,I opened my Etsy Shop. Due to illness, I didn’t actually list any items on Etsy until February 2010.   I had my first and only sale this year in March.  I only have three items listed so far.  

Strange as it may sound, I feel very successful in my Etsy endeavour .I measure my Etsy success in many ways.  Opening an Etsy shop provided the motivation for me  to :1)start a blog; 2) create a Facebook business page; 3) open a Twitter account.   4)  join other online crocheting and knitting internet sites ( such as: Ravelry.com; Crochet Me; and Crochetville.)  and 5) to write my first newsletter.

Making items for my Etsy shop  gives me a manageable goal to work toward.( I do have more than 3 items made. I just haven’t listed them yet. They still need to be  photographed.)   It was very hard for me to stop working four years ago.  The Etsy shop helps me feel that I am self-employed. The Etsy Shop helps me to sometimes think that being homebound is not so bad. I don’t want to do anything too high pressured because some days I don’t feel well.

 One of my goals is to make money to supplement my disability income through selling crocheted items.  But I’m learning that sometimes I don’t set realistic goals . Sometimes I over-estimate what I am really physically able to do.  I’m learning to lower my expectations of how many items I can actually make.  I learning that my timelines have to change for completing projects. I’m learning that I have to stop promising everyone I know that I will crochet gifts for them. 

I believe that one day my Etsy shop will  be more financially successful. As I watch my Etsy shop slowly grow ,I feel that I am actively contributing to the world.

About rhymit61

I crochet and sometimes knit. At this time, I am homebound due to a chronic illness. I am interested selling some of my handcrocheted items .
This entry was posted in Crocheting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to E is for Etsy

  1. Sue says:

    I agree with your statement about being a successful Etsy shop owner! There are so many other things one has to learn. Good job for diving into all the other areas. I know how many things there are to learn…………….I’m going to follow your lead!

Leave a Reply

