Finishing The Baby Sweater

On June 25 , I am inviting a few friends  to my home to  start a crocheting and knitting group.   I am looking forward to it. I enjoy having people visit me at home since it is still so difficult for me to get out.

 I am making my second attempt to apply for a scooter or powerchair. I hope I will be successful this time.   Using my manual wheelchair, means I am dependent on someone to push me. So far I have been very fortunate because volunteers from my church accompany me on appointments.  Maybe if I have a scooter ,I will be able to go out more often.  But until then I think I’m going to invite people to my home.

I’ve added a work in progress page and a  finished projects page to this blog site.  At this point I have no new finished projects to add to my list.  Several months ago, my friend asked me to crochet a baby layette for her grandson. She made her request about a month before the baby was due. He was born in April. I have finished the afghan/blanket to the set. I am having a lot of trouble with the other pieces of the set . I really don’t know why I am finding this project so challenging.

I have made several attempts to make the baby sweater over the last  three months but for some reason I haven’t found a pattern that looks right.  I’ve finally committed myself to making  the Gingerbread Man Pullover from the Little Box of Crochet for Baby. There are also patterns for a hat and booties . I am using blue and white Red Heart Soft Yarn instead of the merino wool yarn suggested in the pattern. The pattern also suggests an “E” crochet hook.  I am using a “B” hook and the gauge is still a little off .  I am trying to crochet the six month size.  So if  the sweater turns out a little larger than the pattern measurements  it should be fine.  I hope I can finish crocheting the sweater today. Then I’ll consider crocheting the hat and booties.

I want that Gingerbread  Man Baby Sweater to be the first item on my finished project page.

About rhymit61

I crochet and sometimes knit. At this time, I am homebound due to a chronic illness. I am interested selling some of my handcrocheted items .
This entry was posted in Crocheting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

