G is for Gladys

I’m basing some my blog post topics on alphabet letters. Go to http://accidental-knitter.blogspot.com for more information or to join in. “G” is for Gladys . Gladys is my mother.  She is known for her hospitality, kindness and sense of humor.  She is also a very strong willed woman.  She is kind, but she does not let others take advantage of her kindness.   These qualities are still very much part of her personality, even though she now has dementia..

Gladys was a nurse for many years. In 1980 at age 40, she was injured at work. She was disabled due to her work related injuries.  She has been wheelchair bound for about 20 years.   But Gladys still remains as strong and independent as possible despite her disability.

My mother has also been a very positive influence in my life.  Now she serves a role model for me as I deal with the challenges of my own disability.

Today I will continue to crochet the  afghan  for  the Camp Deerpark Auction and also attempt to finish  that baby sweater.

About rhymit61

I crochet and sometimes knit. At this time, I am homebound due to a chronic illness. I am interested selling some of my handcrocheted items .
This entry was posted in Crocheting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

