H is for Heartsease Home

H is for Heastsease Home.  Heartsease Home was a foster care agency for young women   ages 16 – 20. I worked there for about 18 years. I helped planned recreational activities for the residents. I also assisted the residents in completing their life skills curriculum training materials.

 I stopped working at Heartsease Home  about 10 years ago. I still keep in touch with several of my old coworkers and former residents. I hope I was a positive influence to both the staff and residents during the years I worked there.

I have many memories of those years. I learned a lot about the behavior of teenaged girls.  I sometimes wonder what it would be like to work with the same age group today.  Cell phones were not as available for widespread use during the years I worked at Heartsease Home. Internet use was also not as common and not frequently used by the residents ten years ago.. I am very fortunate that I had the opportunity to work at Heartsease Home.

 I am basing some of my blog posts topics on the alphabet. For more information go to http://accidental-knitter.blogspot.com

The crocheting group meeting has been rescheduled for next Saturday July 23. I still have two weeks until July 30 to complete the blue and white blanket I am crocheting for the Camp Deerprk auction on July 30.

About rhymit61

I crochet and sometimes knit. At this time, I am homebound due to a chronic illness. I am interested selling some of my handcrocheted items .
This entry was posted in Crocheting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

