Crochet Group Met On Oct. 22nd

Finally,on October 22nd , two ladies came to my home for my crocheting group.  One crocheter is making individual granny squares from her yarn stash. She hasn’t decided what projects she will create from the squares yet. The other participant is crocheting a granny square baby blanket  for a grandchild. I started crocheting a beret for my friend Dollie.We talked about crocheting lapghans to donate to a nursing home.  Our next meeting date is scheduled  for November 5th.   It was a good time for me because I needed help to bring my focus back to crocheting.

My mom’s 71st birthday would have been on October 12th. Last year for her 70th birthday ,I gave her a nice party.  This year on October 15th I had a get together with a few friends to remember mom.  It was a good idea. It helped make my pain easier to bear.  I am so thankful to the Lord for the friends , neighbors, church members and family I am blessed to know.

I am reading a ” Grief Observed ” by C.S. Lewis on my Kindle.  A bereavement counselor suggested that I read “On Grief and Grieving by Elisabeth Kubler.Ross and David Kessler so I’m reading that book too.  I’ve also read “90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Life And Death”  by Don Piper and Cecil Murphey.

I’m still missing my mom. I guess I always will.  I’m also very anxious about my living situation. I don’t know how much longer I am going to be able to continue living in this apartment for financial and other reasons.  My  faith in Jesus Christ is really being tested these days.  I need faith to believe my precious mom is in heaven.  I need faith to believe that I’m not going to have to leave my home of 33 years to move somewhere I don’t want to live.

My cat Misty brings me such comfort and joy.  She remains so calm and seemingly unaffected by the absence of my mom. I can tell that Misty is aware that mom is gone.  I also sense that somehow Misty knows mom will not be returning. 

Prior to mom’s death, Misty was in the habit of sitting on my mom’s wheelchair whenever my mom wasn’t using it. Each time  my mom wanted to use her wheelchair she had to push Misty off the seat. Since mom’s death, Misty does not get on the wheelchair at all.

Lately, Misty has started sleeping on my bed with me some evenings which she rarely did when mom was alive.

 

 

 

 

About rhymit61

I crochet and sometimes knit. At this time, I am homebound due to a chronic illness. I am interested selling some of my handcrocheted items .
This entry was posted in Crocheting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

