Room Rental Agreement

Although, I still refer to the extra bedroom in this apartment as Mommy’s room , I’m hoping to be able to rent it out next month. With the help of  a teenager, from my church community, I was able to clear the rest of my mom’s belongings from the room. Now I have to buy a few items (a bed, a couple of lamps and window blinds) to complete furnishing the room.

I wanted to wait until February or March 2013 to rent out the room so that I could be a little stronger emotionally. But I need more money now. I also wanted to wait until the rent arrears situation had been resolved in housing court. But I can’t afford to put off bringing in extra income any longer.

My friend Dollie gave me a copy of a Room Rental Agreement that she asks people who rent rooms in her home to sign. I am going to use a room renting referral agency that Dollie uses to find potential candidates. I am also trying to find a roomer through Menno House. Menno House provides temporary housing for people from the Mennonite Community worldwide who move to New York City to study or volunteer. I will also probably write an ad to post in some other Christian Agencies.

I revised the Room Rental Agreement that I got from Dollie to  address my concerns.  I am concerned about the following issues:

  • Will I be in danger?
  • Will the roomer take advantage of me due to my disability?
  • Will I receive the rent on time?
  • Will there be any conflicts between the roomer and my home health aides?
  • Will I be able to get enough money to meet my needs?
  • How often will the roomer want  guests?
  • Will the roomer want overnight guests?
  • Will I have any trouble evicting the roomer if there are any problems?
  • Will the roomer have conflicts with my neighbors?
  • Will the roomer steal from me?
  • How will I react to a stranger being in Mommy’s room?

It is 5:30 am  and I haven’t slept yet.  I am so worried about the resolution of my housing problems. I  have been crocheting a scarf overnight since I couldn”t sleep. I am going to try to sleep for a couple of hours before the home health gets here at 9am.

About rhymit61

I crochet and sometimes knit. At this time, I am homebound due to a chronic illness. I am interested selling some of my handcrocheted items .
This entry was posted in Crocheting, Mobility Impaired and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Room Rental Agreement

  1. joyharmon says:

    Rhonda,
    Did you rent your room? I think the list of concerns you made was a good idea. May I suggest that for the first four concerns you might want to get someone you trust to help screen applicants? Research what the going rate for renting a room in your neighborhood is through Craigslist and other sources.

    Most of the other concerns can be addressed in a room mate agreement or a contract of some kind. The one thing you do have to be aware of is that it is very hard to evict someone once they start living there. I don’t know the laws in New York City, but most cities don’t address rental agreements where a room is being rented out to someone not on the apartment contract or lease.

    The emotional attachment to your mother’s room is something you have to deal with on your own. And it is very hard to say how you will feel about it until you have a stranger living there. Just try to pick someone who seems nice, easy going, and reliable.

Leave a Reply

