Decluttering

I didn’t crochet or knit at all today. I hope to finish crocheting the red scarf soon so that I can list it in my Etsy shop. Today, I had a home visit from a podiatrist. I was so happy because I have been trying to find a podiatrist who does home visits for several months.

I did finally follow WordPress’ simple instructions about how to link my blog posts to my Facebook and Twitter accounts. I also have been tweeting a lot to learn how Twitter works.

My efforts to declutter my apartment to prepare for someone to rent the spare bedroom are going well. The bedroom is cleared out. So now I can focus on other rooms.

I threw out a box of audio tapes without sorting
through them. I am doing better in discarding junk mail immediately. I really started donating and discarding items last year after my mom died.

But it still amazes me that I keep so many things that I don’t use regularly . I spend the majority of my time in bed. So, there is really not much I need. I surely don’t need a file cabinet full of papers. I don’t need old photos of people whose names I’ve forgotten. I don’t need pretty china if I’m not going to use it.

I ask myself the follow questions before deciding to keep something: 1) When was the last time you used this? 2)What is the worse thing that will happen if you discard this item? 3) What is your emotional attachment to this item?

Last year, I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to keep this apartment. I thought I was either going to have to go to a nursing home or move in with a friend. I realized that I have too many possesions to fit in a small room. Especially ,if I had to share that room with another person. This realization helps me want to continue to declutter my home.

I don’t think I’ll be dicarding yarn, crochet hooks, knitting needles or patterns anytime soon. I know how important crocheting and knitting are to my well being.

About rhymit61

I crochet and sometimes knit. At this time, I am homebound due to a chronic illness. I am interested selling some of my handcrocheted items .
This entry was posted in Crocheting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

